Dishing the dirt on the shelter favorite

Posted: September 6, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

By: Ashley Hemmy

When taking on this opportunity at the Homelesss Voice, I knew I wanted to write about someone extraordinary.

Johnny McCormick intrigued me right away.

Suffering from Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, a lung disease developed from smoking, Johnny resides on a mattress on the second floor of the COSAC shelter. He shouts and curses at passing residents.

And they all love him.

Johnny was the first  resident and the reason why this shelter exists. And he is the favorite of Sean Cononie – the director and founder. I was so excited to write about such an amazing, lovable person.

I sat with Johnny from 10 a.m. to about 4 p.m. on Sunday, Sept. 5, 2010, and all I got was that he loves bologna and Dick Tracey. Sean later told me that he had never talked about Dick Tracey before, so he was probably lying to me.

Besides the  lying, Johnny wasn’t short on insults to me:

  • “You are a fucking whore. Stop smelling up the place.”
  • “Get out of my face, you creep.”
  • “I’m gonna call the police on you!”
  • “Are you drunk right now?”
  • “What are you selling, lady?”
  • “Little girl, your mommy and daddy are calling you.”
  • “Why don’t you go play with your dog or something?”
  • “You are a real nut case.”
  • “Just go home already, lady.”

As you can see, Johnny was a lovely person.

Once he saw I was done conducting interviews and was ready to leave, he sat up and shook my hand.

“It was real nice talking to you,” he said.

And all I could do was smile. After being the nutcase that sat in the hall for six hours, I knew I had a really good story.

Comments
  1. […] spoke with Johnny McCormick – the shelter’s oldest resident, and the reason why COSAC exists. Andrew followed around a […]

  2. Jinna Marbry says:

    Ashley, you did an amazing job with Johnny!!! You take care and I hope to hear more from you in the future on CNN!

Leave a Reply

